? MSFA Awards and Scholarships Banner 
Quick Links


General Information

Contact Info

Regional Map




Awards and Scholarships

Ward's Stormwater Floodplain Simulation System

Board and General Membership
Meeting Information

Annual Conference

MSFA Committees

Floodplain Permitting

Resources and
Helpful Links

MSFA Scholarships and Awards


Each year the MSFA awards at least one scholarship to a full time junior, senior or graduate student studying biosystems, civil or environmental engineering; or a related natural resources planning program with a specialization related to the mission and goals of the MSFA at a Michigan University.  

A portion of the proceeds from the sale of each WARD's
Stormwater Simulation System Flood Model
go toward
the MSFA Scholarship fund.

Applications for the 2014/2015 scholarship must be postmarked by October 31, 2014.

2013 MSFA Scholarships

4 applications received

8 board members reviewed and scored the applications

Board decided to award 2 - $1500.00 Scholarships


Jonathan Wagenknecht

University of Michigan - Jonathan is a senior working on a Bachelors Degree in Civil and Environmental Engineering, and expects to graduate in April of 2013.  He has completed internships with Giffels-Webster Engineering and the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality.


Whitney Briggs

Western Michigan University - Whitney is a junior working on a Bachelors Degree in Civil Engineering, and expects to graduate in December of 2015.  She has an Associates degree from Kirtland Community College.



Note - Proceeds from Flood Model sales are going into a scholarship fund

The 2012 winners of the MSFA Scholarships

Erica Green
Erica is currently working on dual Masters Degrees in Environmental Engineering and Natural Resources and Environment at the University of Michigan.  She has a BS in Civil and Environmental Engineering from the University of Michigan (2010).  

Jenifer Stuber
Jenifer is currently working on dual Masters Degrees in Environmental Engineering and Biosystems Engineering at Michigan State University.  She as a BS in Environmental Engineering from Utah State university (1997). 

MSFA Scholarship Archives



The MSFA wants to recognize professionals contributing to better storm water and floodplain management through the annual presentation of the MSFA Outstanding Service Award.

2013 George Hosek
MSFA Outstanding
Service Award


The Michigan Stormwater-Floodplain Association Honors




In recognition of your contributions which have resulted in an outstanding local program or activity for comprehensive floodplain & storm water management, or a unique program that encourages flood impact awareness and reduction


Congratulations to Mark Walton, the first winner of the annual
"George Hosek Outstanding Service Award"

In addition to being recognized at the annual MSFA conference, the MSFA will nominate the award winner for consideration at the national level through the Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM) award program.

Please help the MSFA in recognizing outstanding local, regional and state
programs and professionals, by nominating one of Michigan’s floodplain management leaders. 
Nomination Form s
ubmittals are due by November 1, 2013.

At the 2011 Annual Conference, the MSFA awarded Bruce Menerey of the Michigan Department of Environmental Quality a lifetime membership award of appreciation.


2013 MSFA  Sponsors